Mamas_Gun_Ecki_Oct
Home » Mamas Gun – classic soul on „Cure The Jones“

Mamas Gun – classic soul on “Cure The Jones”

Songs timelessly beautiful and at the same time captured in music contemporary history. The new album Cure The Jones by Mamas Gun has everything a good soul album needs. The new pieces will convince long-time companions as well as new fans.

Cure The Jones is one of the many albums that have been created during the past two years and can now finally be presented in its entirety. Fortunately, the band from London can start the tour with the release. The pieces of course deal with the difficult circumstances of isolation during the lockdown and tell of the lack of interactivity with each other.

In addition, this album once again brings out the wonderful and warm arrangements of the band. A sound that you like to get into and remember a difficult time in the pieces again. Each song stands on its own, but together they form a classic soul album that is certainly still a testimony to the times years later.

The mood of the pandemic and the pain felt by each of us is felt in the opener When You Stole The Sun From The Sky. The piano makes the opening, together with bass and drums the rhythm section Andy Platts prepare the warm ground for this first song on the album.

classic timeless soul

Also with Looking For Moses, Mamas Gun makes us think back to those first months of the Corona crisis. With the lines “Her Mama says she can’t go out / Baby girl one day you’ll understand / when all of this is in the past / Till then lest you forget to wash your hands” we are right back in the first lockdowns. The track was written on the anniversary of Bill Withers’ death (30.03.2020) and is a tribute to the soul legend.

With Good Love Mamas Gun give us a good piece of Motown. The long drawn out “uhhhh” at the beginning is so classic that you want to tune right in and the warm vocals. On You’re Too Hip (For Me Baby) we find ourselves smiling broadly and reminiscing about that first unrequited love. Infused with changes of mood and tempo, this album perfectly complements the existing discography.

Recommended from this 11 track album is definitely Party for One. A piece, that in the video memories of absurd situations in the own Lockdown come up again. So loneliness by isolation and daydrinking or missing party mood are again real before the eyes. Again, each instrument has its place and the musicians complement each other and give me at the same time the necessary space for a nuanced sound that strongly reminds of Durand Jones.

The sound that has been cultivated since 2009, which is the band around Andy Platts (vocals) has found in Cure The Jones once again to their full greatness. The album sounds perfect without being too smooth and goes gently under the skin. The tracks make you curious about the tour and the live sound of Mamas Gun in 2022.

Mamas Gun Tour 2022 

You can find an excerpt of the European tour here. Germany has to wait a little longer, then Cologne, Hamburg, Frankfurt, Munich and Erfurt can look forward to a soulful evening.

07.04.22 Doornroosje Nijmegen (NLD)

08.04.22 Effenaar Grote Zaal Eindhoven (NLD)

05.05.22 Cafe Berlin, Madrid (ESP)

06.05.22 Jamboree Jazz Club, Barcelona ESP)

02.06.22 The Bread Shed, Manchester (UK)

03.06.22. Audio Glasgow (UK)

14.06.22 Helios 37, Köln (DE)

15.06.22 Nochtspeicher Hamburg (DE)

16.06.22 Brotfabrik Frankfurt (DE)

17.06.22 Apere, Muffatwerk, München (DE)

18.06.22 Franz Mehlhose, München (DE)

01. – 03.07.22 Love Supreme Festival, Lewes, UK (UK)

09.07.22 Pattern Brighton (UK)

05.09. Lafayette, London (UK)

More dates and link for ticketing you find on your the band webside.

In conclusion, it can be said that Mamas Gun have created a timelessly beautiful album that will surely accompany us from the home record player, through radio plays to the dance floor in the club. This is thanks to the current band lineup. Because thanks to Terry Lewis (guitar), Dave Oliver (keyboards), Chris Boot (drums) and Cameron Dawson (bass) Andy Platts (vocals) can fully fikussieren on the narration of his stories and offers us a sound that could not have been more beautiful.

Cure The Jones is released on 01.04.2022 on Legere Recordings. You can also find out more about Mamas Gun on Instagram and Youtube.

Fotocredits: Ecki Oct

Mamas_Gun_Ecki_Oct
Home » Mamas Gun – klassischer Soul auf „Cure The Jones“

Mamas Gun – klassischer Soul auf „Cure The Jones“

Songs zeitlos schön und gleichzeitig in Musik eingefangene Zeitgeschichte. Das neue Album Cure The Jones von Mamas Gun hat alles was ein gutes Soulalbum braucht. Der Blick auf die neuen Stücke wird langjährige Begleiter ebenso überzeugen, wie neuen Fans.

Cure The Jones ist eines der zahlreichen Alben, die während der vergangenen zwei Jahre entstanden sind und nun endlich in seiner Gänze präsentiert werden können. Denn glücklicherweise kann die Band aus London quasi mit dem Release auch die Tour starten. Die Stücke behandeln natürlich die schwierigen Umstände der Isolation während des Lockdowns und erzählen von der fehlenden Interaktiven miteinander. 

Daneben bringt dieses Album ein weiteres Mal die wunderbaren und warmen Arrangements der Band zum Vorschein. Ein Sound, in den man sich gern reinbegibt und sich in den Stücken wieder an eine schwere Zeit ernnert. Jeder Song steht für sich, gemeinsam bilden sie aber ein klassisches Soul-Album, das sicher auch Jahre später noch ein Zeitzeugnis ist.

Die Stimmung der Pandemie und der Schmerz den jeder von uns gespürt hat, ist im Opener When You Stole The Sun From The Sky deutsch zu spüren. Das Piano macht den Auftakt, gemeinsam mit Bass und Schlagzeug bereiten die Rhytmusgruppe Andy Platts den warmen Grund für diesen ersten Song auf dem Album. 

Klassischer und zeitgenössischer Soul

Auch mit Looking For Moses, lässt uns Mamas Gun wieder an diese ersten Monate der Corona Krise zurückdenken. Mit den Zeilen „Her Mama says she can’t go out / Baby girl one day you’ll understand /  when all of this is in the past /  Till then lest you forget to wash your hands“ sind wir direkt wieder im ersten Lockdowns angekommen. Das Stück ist am Todestag von Bill Withers (30.03.2020) entstanden und eine Hommage an die Soul Legende.

Mit Good Love geben uns Mamas Gun ein gutes Stück Motown. Das langezogene „uhhhhh“ am Anfang ist so klassische, das man direkt und den warmen Gesang einstimmen will. Bei You’re Too Hip (For Me Baby) ertappen wir uns dabei breit zu Lächeln und erinnern und an die erste unerfüllte Liebe zurück. Durchzogen von Stimmungs- und Tempowechseln ergänzt dieses Album die vorhandene Discographie perfekt.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Zu empfehlen von diesem 11 Tracks starken Album ist  auf jeden Fall noch Party for One. Ein Stück, dass  im Video Erinnerungen an absurde Situationen im eignen Lockdown wieder aufkommen lasst. So sind Einsamkeit durch Isolation und Daydrinking bzw. vermisster Partystimmung wieder real vor Augen. Wieder hat jedes Instrument seinen Platz und die Musiker ergänzen sich und geben ich gleichzeitig den benötigten Freiraum für einen nuancierte Sound, der stark an Durand Jones erinnert.

Der seit 2009 gepflegte Sound, den die Band um Andy Platts (Gesang) ausmacht hat in Cure The Jones ein weiteres Mal zu ihrer vollen Größe gefunden. Das Album klingt perfekt, ohne zu glatt zu sein und geht sanft unter die Haut. Die Stücke machen neuigierig auf die Tour und den Livesound von Mamas Gun in 2022.

Mamas Gun Toue 2022 

Einen Auszug der Europa Tour findet ihr hier. Deutschland muss sich noch ein klein wenig gedulden, dann dürfen sich Köln, Hamburg, Frankfurt, München und Erfurt auf eine souligen Abend freuen.

07.04.22 Doornroosje Nijmegen (NLD)

08.04.22 Effenaar Grote Zaal Eindhoven (NLD)

05.05.22 Cafe Berlin, Madrid (ESP)

06.05.22 Jamboree Jazz Club, Barcelona ESP)

02.06.22 The Bread Shed, Manchester (UK)

03.06.22. Audio Glasgow (UK)

14.06.22 Helios 37, Köln (DE)

15.06.22 Nochtspeicher Hamburg (DE)

16.06.22 Brotfabrik Frankfurt (DE)

17.06.22 Apere, Muffatwerk, München (DE)

18.06.22 Franz Mehlhose, München (DE)

01. – 03.07.22 Love Supreme Festival, Lewes, UK (UK)

09.07.22 Pattern Brighton (UK)

05.09. Lafayette, London (UK)

Alle Termine und Ticketlinks findet ihr auf der Bandwebseite.

Abschließend kann gesagt werden, dass Mamas Gun haben ein zeitlos schönes Album geschaffen, haben, das uns sicher vom heimischen Plattenspieler, über Radioplays bis zur Tanzfläche in die Club begleiten wird. Zu verdanken ist dies der aktuelle Bandaufstellung. Denn danke Terry Lewis (Gitarre), Dave Oliver (Keyboards), Chris Boot (Schlagzeug) und Cameron Dawson (Bass) kann sich Andy Platts (Gesang) voll und ganz auf die Erzählung seiner Geschichten fikussieren und bietet uns eine Sound, der nicht hätte schöner sein können.

Cure The Jones ist am 01.04.2022 auf Legere Recordings erschienen. Mehr Infos über Mamas Gun erhaltet ihr auch auf Instagram und Youtube.

Fotocredits: Ecki Oct