Lady Wray_by_Mike_Coletta_01
Home » Lady Wray brings with ‚Piece of Me` a special album

Lady Wray brings with ‘Piece of Me` a special album

Lady Wray gives us with Piece Of Me an album full of RnB and HipHop that is related to Gospel and Soul. It shows a singer, who created special songs build by talent and the strong emotions of an independent woman and a young mother in uncertain times. Thankful that Lady Wray took time for an interview late last year, this is a recommendation of a great album.

Maybe this will be one of the highly recommended albums of the year. Piece Of Me is full of RnB and the kind of soulful HipHop that we missed so long ago. Lady Wray had once again produced with Leon Michels and album full of songs presenting her inner soul.

By the release of Piece of Me April 2019 it seemed to be the first sign for good news. Now two and half years later, we will finally be able to celebrate the full record. The question what has stopped the album process might be obvious for fans.

An album full of big feelings

„One reason for the long silence between the last release and today is of cause the pandemic“, Lady Nicole Wray answers my question of the long break till her last album Queen Alone (2016) and today. With this start of the interview she takes me back on a journey right to the beginning of the album process. She tells me about the first meeting with Leon Michels in the middle of 2018, thinking about the sound and style of the songs and starting the first recordings. Suddenly all stopped by the pandemic. „At this time nobody knew how Covid will go on. We had to slow down and wait,“ she tells me.

Asked how the fact of becoming a mother does influence the album, she tells me openly: „I was definitely very emotional though all the album process. I got confronted with so many things at the same time, like travel restrictions and all the uncertainties etc. I remember listening first time to the recordings of the songs Leon had done with the guys in the studio, I totally felt in love with them.“

I am sure everyone who loves soulful RnB and HipHop can feel the strong emotions the singer put in each song. Starting with the opener I Do the magic will right away catch you. „The sound is very laid back. I want write songs about myself and I wanted to do songs that people can relate to,“ Lady Wray tells me. And she did. The songs transport their stories and emotions directly from the heart of a strong woman to us. The strong voice of Lady Wray is convincing in each track.

Since the release of the title track, many more single-releases had followed. The album contains of 13 songs. With the release at the end of Januar just a handful are missing. I really love Thank You the one that was released right at the moment I was talking to Lady Wray. Just the moment she tells me how important it is for her to give something back to the people who listen to her music. Seemed like an echo of her words, listing to the newest single after our call. It is a song that shows her strong and long connection to the church and the deep belief in god.

Another one of my favorites is Beauty In The Fire. „It is dedicated to all the things that happen to us between now and the beginning“, Lady Wray tells me. „I want to find the beauty in everything around us. A bit like the light at the end of the tunnel.“ This track goes together with Joy & Pain, the last single that has been released before the album will come out. For me Beauty In Fire is the stronger one because it shows the roots to Gospel and the early years of Lady Wray better.

In Melody we truly can feel the emotions of the young mother to her daughter. The song is obviously dedicated to her daughter. „I always thank her for being the strong force behind the album. She had always been there during the album process. She had been with me in the studio, inspiring the beginning of the album and making me a complete person. Its a song about and for her.“ The song so gentle in its acoustic style shows at same time the strong and the soft side of Lady Wray.

Lady Wray – a strong woman

Listening to the full record again and again, I find many more references to a strong and mindful women who always knew what she wanted. „I think I had always been a woman in business, without knowing it,“ Lady Nicole Wray answered asked by her career and the changes in the last years. She tells me how she was first managed by her mother and that she learned much from her. „She had always been the voice in my ear, when she was not with me“. After they decided to switch back to just mother and daughter, Lady Wray had long time searching for a good management and he finally found a good team that surrounds her. „Can` stop thanking all the people, helping me and making this real,“ she tells me. Finally asked if she wants to add something from her side, she shows her gratefulness to all the fans staying with her through all the years.

Piece of Me is a very special album. It brings together the soul of the solo debut Queen Alone (2016) and connects it in a special way to the all-time-favorite Lady album from 2014. It is full of songs, that tell stories we know and we can feels with. All of them seem to have a special glow by the co-working of Lady Wray and Leon Michaels. They sound naturally build up between them  and not hard driven produced. That´s why even the strongest baselines seems to be softer surrounded by the voice of Lady Wray. More than once you might feel a shiver of joy and pain and fall in love with one more song listening to Piece Of Me.

Piece Of Me is released on 28.01.2022 on Big Crown Records. The album can be ordered on vinyl, CD and will be listed on all streaming platforms as well.

Lady_Wray_Banner_by_Mike_Coletta

Hopefully there will be announced concerts as fast as possible. For news have a look on Instagram, Facebook and on her homepage.

Fotocredit by Mike Coletta

Lady Wray_by_Mike_Coletta_01
Home » Lady Wray bringt mit ‚Piece of Me` ein besonderes Album heraus

Lady Wray bringt mit ‚Piece of Me` ein besonderes Album heraus

Lady Wray bringt uns mit Piece Of Me ein Album voller RnB und HipHop, der sich mit Gospel und Soul vereint. Es zeigt eine Sängerin, die mit Talent und den starken Emotionen einer unabhängigen Frau und jungen Mutter in unsicheren Zeiten besondere Songs geschaffen hat. Dankbar, dass Lady Wray sich Ende letzten Jahres Zeit für ein Interview genommen hat, ist dies eine Empfehlung eines grossartigen Albums.

Ich könnte mir vorstellen, dass dies eines der hochgelobten Alben in diesem Jahr sein wird. Piece Of Me ist voll von RnB und diesem besonderen gefühlvollem HipHop, den wir so lange vermisst haben. Lady Wray hatte wieder einmal mit Leon Michels ein Album produziert, das ihre Innerstes hoch emotional und nahbar präsentieren.

Die  Veröffentlichung des Titeltracks Piece of Me Mitte 2019 schien die Ankündigung weitere guter Nachrichten zu sein. Nun, zweieinhalb Jahre später, werden wir endlich die komplette Platte feiern können. Die Frage, was den Albumprozess gestoppt hat, dürfte für Fans von Lady Wray offensichtlich sein.

Ein Album voller großer Gefühle

„One reason for the long silence between the last release and today is of cause the pandemic“, beantwortet Lady Nicole Wray meine Frage nach der langen Pause zwischen ihrem letzten Album Queen Alone (2016) und heute. Mit dem Beginn des Interviews nimmt sie mich mit auf eine Reise über die Entstehung des Albums. Sie erzählt, wie sie sich Mitte 2018 das erste Mal mit Leon Michels zusammen kam und sie über den den Sound und Stil der Songs nachdachten und mit den ersten Aufnahmen begannen. Plötzlich wurde alles durch die Pandemie gestoppt. „At this time nobody knew how Covid will go on. We had to slow down and wait,“ erzählt sie mir.

Auf die Frage, wie sich ihr Situation der werdende Mutter auf das Album ausgewirkt hat, antwortet sie mir offen und frei: „I was definitely very emotional though all the album process. I got confronted with so many things at the same time, like travel restrictions and all the uncertainties etc. I remember listening first time to the recordings of the songs Leon had done with the guys in the studio, I totally felt in love with them.“

Ich bin mir sicher, dass jeder, der gefühlvollen RnB und HipHop liebt, die starken Emotionen spüren kann, die die Sänger in jeden ihrer Song gelegt hat. Schon beim Opener I Do fühlt man sich von der Magie des Album gefangen. „The sound is very laid back. I want write songs about myself and I wanted to do songs that people can relate to,“, erzählt Lady Wray. Und das ist ihr gelungen. Die Songs transportieren ihre Geschichten und bringt die Gefühle einer starken Frau zu uns. Die Stimme und das Talent von Lady Wray überzeugt in jedem Stück.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Seit der Veröffentlichung des Titeltracks folgten viele weitere Single-Veröffentlichungen. Das Album enthält insgesamt 13 Songs. Zur Album Veröffentlichung Ende Januar fehlt nur noch eine Handvoll weiterer Stücke. Eines meiner Favoriten ist Thank You. Ein Stück, das in dem Moment veröffentlicht wurde, als ich Lady Wray im Austausch war. Genau in dem Moment, als sie mir erzählte, wie wichtig es für sie ist, den Menschen, die ihre Musik hören, etwas zurückzugeben. Es schien fast wie ein Echo ihrer Worte die neueste Single später zu anhörte. Es ist ein Stück, das ihre starke und lange Verbindung zur Kirche und den tiefen Glauben an Gott aufzeigt.

Ein weiteres meiner Lieblingsstücke ist Beauty In The Fire. „It is dedicated to all the things that happen to us between now and the beginning“, sagt Lady Wray. „I want to find the beauty in everything around us. A bit like the light at the end of the tunnel.“ Dieser Song passt zu Joy & Pain, der letzten Single, die vor dem Erscheinen des Albums veröffentlicht wurde. Für mich ist Beauty In The Fire, das stärkere Stück, da es die Wurzeln zum Gospel und den frühen Jahren von Lady Wray besser aufzeigt.

In Melody sind die Gefühle der jungen Mutter zu ihrer Tochter fast greifbar. Das Lied ist ihrer Tochter gewidmet. „I always thank her for being the strong force behind the album. She had always been there during the album process. She had been with me in the studio, inspiring the beginning of the album and making me a complete person. Its a song about and for her.“ Der in seinem akustischen Stil so sanfte Song zeigt gleichzeitig die starke und die sanfte Seite von Lady Wray.

Lady Wray – eine starke Frau

Beim wiederholten Anhören der Platte, finde ich viele weitere Hinweise auf eine starke und gleichzeitig auch gefühlsbetonte Frau, die immer wusste, was sie wollte. „I think I had always been a woman in business, without knowing it,“, antwortet Lady Nicole Wray auf die Frage nach ihrer Karriere und den Veränderungen der letzten Jahre. Sie erzählt mir, dass sie zuerst von ihrer Mutter gemanagt wurde und dass sie viel von ihr gelernt hat. „She had always been the voice in my ear, when she was not with me“. Nachdem sie sich dazu entschieden hatten, wieder „nur“ als Mutter und Tochter zu sein, hat Lady Wray lange nach einem guten Management gesucht. Vor ein paar Jahren fand sie schließlich ein gutes Team, das sie begleitet. „Can` stop thanking all the people, helping me and making this real,“, sagt sie mir. Als ich sie abschließend frage, ob sie ihren Fans noch etwas mitteilen möchte, zeigt sie ihre Dankbarkeit gegenüber allen,  die ihr über all die Jahre hinweg die Treue gehalten haben.

Piece of Me ist ein ganz besonderes Album. Es vereint das Solodebüts Queen Alone (2016) auf eine besondere Weise mit dem großartigen Album Lady aus 2014. Es ist voll von Songs, die Geschichten erzählen, die jeder von uns kennen und die uns unmittelbar berühren. Sie alle scheinen durch die Zusammenarbeit von Lady Wray und Leon Michaels einen besonderen Glanz erhalten zu haben. Sie klingen wie natürlich gewachsen und nicht künstlich produziert. Daher wirken selbst die lautesten Bassläufe durch Zugabe der Stimme von Lady Wray weich und anschmiegsam. Mehr als einmal wird man beim Hören von Piece Of Me gleichermaßen einen Schauer der Freude und des Schmerzes verspüren und sich in einen weiteren Song verlieben.

Piece Of Me wird am 28.01.2022 auf Big Crown Records erscheinen. Das Album kann auf Vinyl und CD bestellt werden und wird auch auf allen Streaming-Plattformen zu finden sein.

Lady_Wray_Banner_by_Mike_Coletta

Hoffentlich werden so schnell wie möglich auch Konzerte angekündigt. Für Neuigkeiten schaut auf auf Instagram, Facebook und ihrer Webseite.

Fotocredit by Mike Coletta