Jamie_And_The_Numbers
Home » Jamie and The Numbers – ‚You Don’t Love Me‘ real Soul from New Zealand

Jamie and The Numbers – ‘You Don’t Love Me’ real Soul from New Zealand

Jamie and The Numbers let us feel the full power of soul on their debut You Don’t Love Me. Carried by the voice of singer Jamie Mavusa, an album now sees the light of day that will delight soul fans worldwide with a mixture of originals and covers.

With the 11 Songs, we are presented with a band that has previously only released on 7″ vinyl. Highly praised and much played by radio presenters like Eddie Piller (Totally Wired Radio), Craig Charles (BBC 6 Music), and Kurtis Powers (The Face Radio), the sound from New Zealand has also reached us. Personally, I am also a self-confessed follower of Eddie Pillar’s programmes on Totally Wired Radio. After all, the co-founder of the Acid Jazz label with bands like Mother Earth, the Brand New Heavies and Jamiroquai has clearly influenced the musical taste of MUSICSPOTS. Musicians and bands recommended by Eddie Pillar are better remembered. Jamie and The Numbers are no exception.

Often I listen to new releases on the side and quickly get bored. Not here. The album starts energetically with You Don`t Love Me and already at track three Macgic Touch it is clear: The combination of soul with gospel convinces me. Front singer Jamie Mavusa was discovered during a rendition of the song Wade in The Water in her gospel choir in Wellington and forms herself into Jamie and The Numbers with a four-piece herself band. These are: Mark Lerwill (Vocals/Guitar), Geof Lerwill (Keyboards/Vocals), Simon Bayliss (Bass/Vocals), Craig Lerwill (Drums/Percussion).

The album is fun throughout. Whether you take the yearning Stay or the bluesy version of Boys Dont Cry. Again and again it’s Jamie’s singing that gets you hooked. The band plays its part in making especially the more powerful pieces round. Jamie’s fine and pure voice is once more clearly evident on While I Was Sleeping, a piece purely with acoustic guitar.

Soul debut with a powerful voice

All in all, Jamie and The Numbers’ debut is more than “just” a pure soul album. Because at the latest with the fade-out of the last song Let’s Make it Last, I realized that I’m directly in the mood for a real gig, where I can feel the music from the wild dancing at the beginning to the last quiet note at the end.

Until it comes to a real live concert, we get to hear Jamie and The Numbers from the top DJs on the radio or get to enjoy the album on the record player at home. Because at the end of the year, dancefloors are scarce here again.

JamyAndTheNumbers_Cover_k

You Don’t Love Me by Jamie and The Numbers can be directly orderd via the Bandcamp shop of Superfly Funk & Soul Records. Shout out and thanks to Guila from Willwork4funk who is preenting the best in Soul to us.

You want more Northern Soul power? Give the sound of Emma Noble or Nick Corbin a try. Beg you will love it.

Jamie_And_The_Numbers
Home » Jamie and The Numbers – ‚You Don’t Love Me‘ echter Soul aus Neuseeland

Jamie and The Numbers – ‚You Don’t Love Me‘ echter Soul aus Neuseeland

Jamie and The Numbers lassen uns auf ihrem Debüt You Don’t Love Me die volle Kraft des Soul spüren. Getragen durch die Stimme der Sängerin Jamie Mavusa erblickt nun ein Album die Welt, das mit einer Mischung aus Originalen und Covern Soulfans weltweit begeistern wird.

Mit dem 11 Songs präsentiert sich uns eine Band, die ihre Veröffentlichungen bisher nur auf 7″ Vinyl herausgebracht hat. Hochgelobt und viel gespielt von Radiomoderatoren wie Eddie Piller (Totally Wired Radio), Craig Charles (BBC 6 Music), und Kurtis Powers (The Face Radio) hat der Sound aus Neuseeland auch uns erreicht. Auch ich persönlich bin bekennende Anhängerin der Sendungen von Eddie Pillar auf Totally Wired Radio. Immerhin hat der Mitgründer des Acid Jazz Labels mit Bands wie Mother Earth, den Brand New Heavies und Jamiroquai den Musikgeschmack von MUSICSPOTS deutlich geprägt. Musiker:innen und Bands,  die von Eddie Pillar empfohlen werden, merkt man sich besser. So auch Jamie and The Numbers.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Oft höre ich neue Veröffentlichungen nebenbei und bin schnell gelangweilt. Nicht hier. Das Album startet energetisch mit You Don`t Love Me und bereits bei Track drei Macgic Touch ist klar: Die Verbindung von Soul mit Gospel überzeugt mich. Frontsängerin Jamie Mavusa wurde bei einer Interpretation des Songs Wade in The Water in ihrem Gospelchor in Wellington entdeckt und formt sich mit einer vierköpfigen sich Band zu Jamie and The Numbers. Dies sind: Mark Lerwill (Vocals/Guitar), Geof Lerwill (Keyboards/Vocals),  Simon Bayliss (Bass/Vocals), Craig Lerwill (Drums/Percussion).

Das Album macht durchweg Spass. Ob man nun das sehnsuchtsvolle Stay oder die bluesige Version von Boys Dont Cry nimmt. Immer wieder ist es der Gesang von Jamie auf dem man hängen bleibt. Die Band trägt ihren Teil dazu, dass besonders die kraftvolleren Stücke rund sind. Die feine und reine Stimme von Jamie zeigt sich nochmal deutlich bei While I Was Sleeping, einem Stück rein mit Akustik Gitarre.

Soul Debüt mit starker Stimme

Gesamt betrachtet ist das Debüt von Jamie and The Numbers mehr als „nur“ ein astreines Soul-Album. Denn spätestens mit dem Ausklingen des letzten Songs Let´s Make it Last, merke ich, dass ich direkt wieder Lust auf ein echtes Konzert haben, bei dem ich von ausgelassenen Tanz zum Start bis zum letzten leisen Ton am Schuss die Musik spüren kann.

Bis es zu einem echten Livekonzert kommt, kriegen wir Jamie and The Numbers  von den Top-Djs im Radio zu hören oder dürfen das Album auf dem heimischen Plattenspieler geniessen. Denn zum Jahresende sind hier die Tanzflächen wieder rar gesät.

JamyAndTheNumbers_Cover_k

You Don’t Love Me von Jamie and The Numbers erhaltet könnt ihr direkt über den Bandcamp Shop von Superfly Funk & Soul Records bestellen. Herzlichen Dank an dieser Stellen an Guila von Willwork4funk die uns derzeit mit so vielen coolen, souligen Tipps versorgt.

Ihr wollt noch mehr Northern Soul Power? Dann hört mal bei Emma Noble oder Nick Corbin rein.